Briefs April 2012


James Anderegg, a partner and past president of Mutual Materials Co., received the National Concrete Masonry Association Lifetime Achievement Award during the group's 2012 convention in Orlando. He joined the Bellevue, Wash.-producer in the late 1980s and was instrumental in leading the company's growth throughout the Pacific Northwest through acquisitions and greenfield plant development.

Anderegg has brought to the industry a solid background as a structural engineer with experience in both aviation and auto manufacturing. He has been an advocate for elevating Mutual Materials' own manufacturing processes, NCMA affirms, and improving the way masonry and hardscape products are designed and used—likewise fighting for appropriate industry representation in building codes and standards. Mutual Materials President Joe Bowen presented the award, which was accepted on Anderegg's behalf by his daughter, Kendall Anderegg, vice president of sales and distribution.

Spancrete Global Services has announced the hiring of Nicholas Passint as their new senior research and development/design engineer. He was previously the head product engineer for Pflow Industries, Inc. Passint holds his Bachelor of Science in engineering from the University of Wisconsin, as well as a Master of Business Administration in International Business from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Lubar School of Business.


Worcester, Pa.-based American Infrastructure, a heavy civil contractor with concrete and asphalt production, was presented the Associated Builders and Contractors’ 2011 Contractor of the Year award at the association’s 22nd Annual Excellence in Construction and National Safety Excellence Award program in February.

Each year, ABC recognizes an individual or company that attains a level of achievement that raises the bar for all of us, and American Infrastructure certainly fits the bill,” said 2012 ABC National Chairman Eric Regelin, president of Granix, LLC, Ellicott City, Md. (left) “Their commitment to excellence and safety on all levels helps to advance our organization, the construction industry and the principles of free enterprise.”

“We are incredibly honored to receive such a coveted award from ABC,” said A. Ross Myers, chairman and CEO for American Infrastructure (right in photo). “As a long-time member of the organization and recipient of numerous industry awards over the years, this recognition marks a major milestone for our organization. It is a testament to the hard work and dedication of our team to exceed our customers' expectations while ensuring the safety and development of our employees. We are proud to accept this award.”

Kate Brannelly, FSMPS, has joined CTLGroup as the firm’s director of marketing & business development. Brannelly brings a broad range of marketing, communications and business development expertise to the firm, along with experience in the client-focused Practice Group marketing concept employed by CTLGroup. She will partner with the firm’s Practice Group Chairs to lead the marketing and business development plans for each of their market segments. In this role, she will be responsible for the development and implementation of CTLGroup’s firm-wide business development and promotion strategies, and will actively participate in determining the strategic direction of the firm as a member of the senior management team.

The Wisconsin Ready Mixed Concrete Association has selected Keith Barghahn, Croell Redi-Mix of La Crosse, and Todd Brockman, MCC, Inc. of Appleton, as president and vice president of the 2012 WRMCA Board of Directors, respectively. Matt Schmitz, Schmitz Ready Mix of Milwaukee, was elected secretary/treasurer.

Producer directors elected are Mike Fiorita, Prairie Materials, Milwaukee; Tim Kieler, Bard Materials, Dickeyville; Brian Stefonik, Northern Lakes Concrete, Eagle River; Mike Tews, Carew Concrete, Appleton; Steve Verrette, Gillett Cement Products, Gillett; Bob Wells, County Materials Corporation, Marathon; Todd Widdes, Todd’s Redi-Mix, Rice Lake; and, Scott Zignego, Zignego Ready Mix, Waukesha.

Associate directors elected are Jason Chilson, Grace Construction Products, Portage; Dan Large, Fiber Reinforcing & Consulting, Port Washington; Keith Nault, Solomon Colors, Waukesha; Brad Oertel, Financial Transaction Services, Hartland; Roger Volden, Holcim, Larsen; and, Gary Wallis, St. Marys Cement, Milwaukee.

Separately, WRMCA announced the winners for the 2011 Annual Concrete Design Awards. The awards are a part of a prestigious program showcasing best uses of ready-mixed concrete in Wisconsin and Michigan’s Upper Peninsula. The WRMCA, General Resource Technology and the Wisconsin Chapter of the American Concrete Institute co-sponsored the annual award program, now in its 31st year.

For this year’s design awards, 18 categories were represented with a total of 95 winners that included owners, architects, engineers, contractors and ready mixed producers. Categories included: Agricultural; Commercial; Decorative; Education, Healthcare, and Public; Environmental; ICF; Industrial; Facility; Municipal Infrastructure; Other; Parking Lot; Pervious; and, regional projects.

The Concrete…Driving Wisconsin Forward-themed Concrete Design Award Ceremony took place on March 9 at the Harley-Davidson Museum in Milwaukee.

Teresa Burton has joined the American Society of Concrete Contractors as director of member services. She was membership director for the Chesterfield, Mo., Chamber of Commerce and prior to that was director of member services with AAIM Management Association, St. Louis.