Concrete Products is the leading source for Concrete Plants, Concrete Mixers, Precast, and Ready Mix news.

Briefs August 2012

Spancrete has announced the hiring of Scott Galke as the director of operations for its Valders, Wis., plant. Galke recently served as the director of operations at Metromont Precast in Greenville, S.C. Prior to his tenure at Metromont, Galke was the operations manager at Shockey Precast Company in Virginia, and also held other general manager roles.

“Scott brings significant experience to our Valders operations,” says Alan Antoniewicz, president and COO of Spancrete. “From LEAN manufacturing principles to safety improvement processes, Scott has the qualities that we need in order to keep Spancrete focused on Building Innovation.”

The Masonry Veneer Manufacturers Association is accepting submissions through November 11 for their annual Masonry Veneer Design Awards contest. Entries should highlight innovative use and design, proper installation, and creative looks in masonry veneer (manufactured stone veneer). All entries must be submitted online at

An independent judging panel, made up of members of the American Institute of Building Design, will score the entries in 10 categories, ranging from New Construction – Residential – Exterior through Remodel – Commercial – Interior. Winners will be announced at the MVMA Winter Meeting in Las Vegas, Nev., during the 2013 International Builders Show. Each winner will receive a certificate and national recognition for their work.

“The 2013 Masonry Veneer Design Awards will be recognizing the year’s best masonry veneer projects for their innovation and beauty,” said Mike Fischer, MVMA general manager. “We had a close and exciting contest in 2012, with more than 250 entries submitted from around the country. We hope to outpace that this year and showcase some amazing projects.”

National Concrete Masonry Association Research and Development Laboratory Manager Nick Lang has been appointed to the Cement and Concrete Reference Laboratory Executive Group. The ASTM- and AASHTO-backed CCRL is committed to improvement of quality testing in the construction materials industry through laboratory inspections and proficiency sample programs.

The Executive Group provides feedback to CCRL on their activities and also provides suggestions for future initiatives, while also reviewing feedback from CCRL inspections.

Daniel S. Zechmeister, executive director of the Masonry Institute of Michigan, Southfield, Mich., has received the ASTM International Award of Merit from Committee C15 on Manufactured Masonry Units. The Award of Merit and its accompanying title of fellow is ASTM’s highest organizational recognition for individual contributions to standards activities.

A member of ASTM International since 1987, Committee C15 honored Zechmeister for his contributions to standards for manufactured masonry units of fired clay and shale, concrete and sand-lime units. He has served terms as recording secretary and membership secretary on the main C15 committee and works on several subcommittees. He was recognized with a C15 Award of Appreciation in 2005 for his term as awards chairman. Zechmeister is also a member of Committee C12 on Mortars and Grouts for Unit Masonry.

A registered professional engineer in the state of Michigan, Zechmeister joined the Masonry Institute of Michigan, a non-profit institute dedicated to the promotion and advancement of the masonry industry, in 1986 and assumed his current role in 1990. Prior to that, he was an associate civil engineer for the City Engineering Department Inspection Bureau in Detroit, Mich., and a structural engineer at Albert Kahn Associates and Campbell Associates, both in Detroit. He holds a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from Wayne State University.

Separately, Anthony E. Fiorato, Ph.D., P.E., a consultant and executive director of the Slag Cement Association, has been honored with the ASTM International 2012 William T. Cavanaugh Memorial Award for his leadership and contributions in promoting and strengthening the national and international voluntary standards system. The award commemorates W.T. Cavanaugh, chief executive officer of ASTM from 1970 to 1985.

Fiorato, an ASTM fellow and Award of Merit recipient, has been an ASTM member since 1980. He’s currently chairman of the Executive Committee of the Cement and Concrete Reference Laboratory (CCRL), and serves on Committees C01 on Cement, C09 on Concrete and Concrete Aggregates, and E36 on Accreditation and Certification. Furthermore, Fiorato was chairman of the ASTM International board of directors in 2006, a board member from 2001 to 2008, and the chairman of Committee C09 from 2008 to 2011.

Before retiring in 2007, Fiorato served as president and chief executive officer of CTLGroup. As part of his current consulting practice, he assists clients in understanding and resolving issues with building code requirements and with materials and testing standards. His work has focused on the engineering properties and durability of concrete related to structural design, construction and performance characteristics. He has written more than 60 publications on cement and concrete technology.

In addition to his work with ASTM International, Fiorato is a fellow and past president of the American Concrete Institute. He has been an active member of several ACI committees, and he continues to participate as a member of ACI Committee 318, Structural Concrete Building Code.

On behalf of both ASTM International and ACI, Fiorato has made presentations and given lectures to technical and nontechnical groups on cement and concrete technology, test methods, codes and standards, and structural applications and performance. Both groups have honored Fiorato with several awards. He received the ASTM Katharine and Bryant Mather Award in 2007 and C09 awards of appreciation in 2007, 2008 and 2009. He became a C09 Honorary Committee Member in 2010. Fiorato has received ACI honors as well: the Henry L. Kennedy Award in 2002, the A.J. Boase Award in 1999 and the Henry C. Turner Medal in 1997. Fiorato was also inducted into the National Academy of Engineering in 2008.

The Tilt-Up Concrete Association (TCA) will open judging of the 2012 Tilt-Up Achievement Awards Program to their Facebook fans. Each submitted project will be presented by one image and a brief description on TCA’s Facebook page. Followers can then “Like” their favorite projects.

“This will be a great opportunity to include our Facebook followers in the process and introduce a new award to the coveted program! This new opportunity is meant to increase awareness of the program and will not replace traditional judging,” said Mitch Bloomquist, project manager at TCA.

Up to three projects will be recognized as Tilt-Up Achievement Awards winners through the Facebook process and will be designated as fan favorites. The winning projects will be announced at the 2012 TCA Annual Convention in Amelia Island, Fla., on October 4.

The TCA Awards Program recognizes outstanding site cast Tilt-Up structures and advances in technology, products and methods used in the Tilt-Up industry. Submitters must be a member of the TCA and are required to submit a one-page abstract of the project that includes the best photo as well as the top three reasons why the project is worthy of consideration for an Achievement Award.